Thursday, February 21, 2008

Michael Geist named as recipient of 2008 EFF Pioneer Awards

Canadian Copyfighter and open access hero Michael Geist has been named one of the winners of the 2008 Electronic Frontier Foundation Pioneer Awards.

Other 2008 winners are:

Mitchell Baker and the Mozilla Foundation, which is dedicated to promoting openness, innovation, and opportunity on the Internet through its sponsorship of the open-source Mozilla project.

Mark Klein is a retired AT&T telecommunications technician who blew the whistle on the government's warrantless surveillance program.

Congratulations to Michael and all the other winners! As Michael G. points out, the list of past winners is remarkable, including, in 2000, Tim Berners-Lee, the inventor the world wide web, and "librarians everywhere".